Finished installing Roadster Sport Race on ND

Miata Parts, Intakes, Superchargers, Headers, Exhausts, Shocks, Springs, Sway Bars, Brake Kits, Autocross and track mods.
awales74

Finished installing Roadster Sport Race on ND

Post by awales74 »

Just finished installing my Roadster Sport Race muffler. Total newb mechanic so it took me a bit.

But the results are absolute riot. It's quiet at idle and alley/drive way speeds. It's bold with your foot down. But not substantially more volume at high RPM. Fun sounds as you down shift.

Being a newb -- got some newb questions.

1 - are there torque specs on the bolts to the mid pipe? They were pretty hard to take off so I put 'em on pretty hard. But I'm sure there's more science to it then that. I actually have a torque wrench -- love the chance to use it :)

2 - it seems like there were nuts on the back of the original muffler but they were welded on. these spring loaded bolts I think of as 3 parts -- bolt, spring, and nut. but there's no nut if its welded on to the original? It seems the plate on the race muffler is thicker -- does that make up for no bolt?

3 - do the rubber hanger thingies really work as well when used the second time. they seemed alot easier to put on than take off. I might have had everything pretty well lubed or I may have a better idea of what I was trying to do when putting them back on. Just seemed a little too easy.

4 - is there a break in period in terms of performance. i have a OFT tablet and I hear that I can send in data log of a 3rd gear pull but I should wait till I get my exhaust. So I have it, do I do the pull now or should I wait a while? In terms of sound should I expect changes as time goes on?

Appreciate the help and appreciate the muffler. Zoom Zoom.
Brian
Site Admin

Re: Finished installing Roadster Sport Race on ND

Post by Brian »