FD3S Spring Rates for Autox

Mazda RX7 and RX8 Suspension, Intakes, Headers, Exhaust, Shocks, Springs, Sway Bars, Brake Kits, Autocross and track mods.
cosmo105

FD3S Spring Rates for Autox

Post by cosmo105 »

Hi Brian,

I'm kinda new to Autoxing (drag racing background) but I'd like to know what is your experience with spring rates for a "kinda" DD FD Autox car.

Just a little background:

I have a 93 FD that has been modified with a single turbo T04e with all the applicable mods (injectors, PowerFC, FMIC, 3" all the way back, HKS ignition, all the reliability mods) to put down 400rwhp at 15lbs. Suspension mods currently are RB front sway, Tanabe rear sway, Eibach springs and Tokico Illuminas. I borrowed a set of old Victos (245/45/16) and could hold her own in the SM2 group if the track was configured to "let her legs stretch".

This year I'm planning to put coilovers on with a set of Enkei rpf1's with Kumho V710 285/30/18's all around. But with limited resources, I have a budget of less than 2k to purchase coilovers. In that range, several coilover manufactures have a standard 10k/8kg spring rate but some have a 12k/12k rate.

My question is what do you recommend for an FD that sees about 3k miles per year that can be competitive at Autox at the local level?

Thanks
Brian
Site Admin

Post by Brian »