NC Alignment... No racing

Miata Parts, Intakes, Superchargers, Headers, Exhausts, Shocks, Springs, Sway Bars, Brake Kits, Autocross and track mods.
AndrewK636

NC Alignment... No racing

Post by AndrewK636 »

Finally getting new tires on 06 NC. Passed on the Michelin and Conti Max performance Summer tires for Kumho Touring tire that has slightly less dry/wet performance for half the price. And much better wear rating. I'm just a spirited driver. No track/race in immediate future.

FM Stage II suspension. 300/200 spring rates. Right front is my highest at slightly less than 14".

So last set up was with real nice Conti's and FM suggested alignment:

Camber F/R: -1.0/-1.5
Toe: slight toe in both front and rear
Caster: FM suggestion was 5.0, but 5.5 is all we could get.

No major problems with that. Seem to have outer edge wear, suggesting I need more negative camber. Turn in was fine, but it pushes for sure.... when cornering I have to constantly turn more. And the back end never looses grip unless I turn TCS off. To me it seems that their lawyers told them to promote these understeer specs so limit liability. And that's ok, but I think I want to push it a little harder. I have very little Interstate driving at high speed, but definitely don't want a jittery car.

So my plan for new alignment is as follows:

Toe: Going for 0 deg to very small toe in front. Very small toe in rear.

Camber: To combat the understeer I think my front camber should be equal, if not greater than my rear. -1/-1.5 does't cut it. It seems the rear ramps up negative camber faster than the front under compression. I'm torn between one Goodwin recommendation of -1.2 all around and another Goodwin recommendation that gives some bias to the front: -1.8/-1.5. The later makes sense given the more progressive ramp up of negative camber on the rear.